Microflora in the microbiocenosis

Significance of the normal microflora for maintenance of the gastrointestinal tract microbiocenosis

   In 1681 Antonie van Leeuwenhoek, a Dutch researcher, informed for the first time about his study of the bacteria and other microorganisms revealed in  the human fecal matter and hypothesized on coexistence of different bacteria in the gastrointestinal tract (GIT). Much later, in 1850 Louis Pasteur developed the conception of functional role of bacteria in the fermentation process. Robert Koch, a German doctor, conducted this research work further and developed the pure culture picking method to identify the specific bacterial strains required for differentiation  of disease-inducing and beneficial microorganisms. In 1888 Ilya I. Mechnikov working at Louis Pasteur Institute gave substantiation to the theory that the complex or microorganisms inhibiting the human intestines produce “the auto-intoxication effect” on the organism, he believed that the healthy bacteria, when introduced into the gastrointestinal tract, would be able to modify the intestinal microflora action and resist intoxication.

   The microflora present on the skin and mucous membranes of the open cavities incorporates tens and hundreds of different species of microorganisms. The alimentary tract represents an open system where the microorganism makes a contact with the ambient environment  and microbes present in it.  The normal intestinal microflora is necessary for maintaining at the optimal level the metabolic processes proceeding in the macroorganism and for provision of the high colonization resistance of the host organism in relation to the pathogenic microbes.

   The normal intestinal microflora consists of the strictly anaerobic bacteria to the extent of 92-95%. The content of aerobes and facultative anaerobes ranges between 2 and 5%. The intestinal microflora content is adequately individual but the quantitative relationship of difference microbe populations is characterized by definite stability. Changes of living conditions of the host organism may involved changes in composition and population of the intestinal microflora,  which is not always ignored by the macroorganism.

Микрофлора в микробиоценозе

Значение нормальной микрофлоры для поддержания микробиоценоза желудочно-кишечного тракта

В 1681 году голландский исследователь Антони Ван Левенгук впервые сообщил о своих наблюдения относительно бактерий и других микроорганизмов, обнаруженных  в человеческих фекалиях и выдвинул гипотезу о совместном существовании различных видов бактерий в желудочно-кишечном тракте (ЖКТ). Значительно позже, в 1850 году, Луи Пастер развил концепцию о функциональной роли бактерий в ферментационном процессе. Немецкий врач Роберт Кох продолжил исследования в данном направлении и создал методику выделения чистых культур, позволяющую  идентифицировать специфичные бактериальные штаммы, что необходимо для разграничения болезнетворных и полезных микроорганизмов. В 1888 году  Илья Ильич Мечников, работая в Институте Луи Пастера,  обосновал  теорию о том, что в кишечнике человека обитает комплекс микроорганизмов, которые оказывают на организм «аутоинтоксикационный эффект»  полагая, что введение в ЖКТ «здравословных» бактерий способно модифицировать действие кишечной микрофлоры и противодействовать интоксикации.

Микрофлора, присутствующая на коже и слизистых оболочках открытых полостей, включает в себя десятки и сотни разнообразных видов микроорганизмов. Пищеварительный тракт представляет собой открытую систему, посредством которой осуществляется контакт макроорганизма с внешней средой и присутствующими в нем микробами. Нормальная микрофлора кишечника необходима для поддержания на оптимальном уровне метаболических процессов, протекающих в макроорганизме, а также для создания высокой колонизационной резистентности организма хозяина по отношению к патогенным микробам.

Нормальная микрофлора кишечника на 92-95% состоит из строго анаэробных видов бактерий. Аэробы и факультативные анаэробы составляют от 2 до 5 %. Состав кишечной микрофлоры достаточно индивидуален, но при этом количественные соотношения между различными микробными популяциями характеризуются определенной стабильностью. Изменения условий жизни организма-хозяина может приводить к изменениям в составе и численности кишечной микрофлоры, что не всегда является безразличным для макрооганизма.